PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Thursday, March 3, 2022

Contact: Betsy Theroux

(404) 656-3996

betsy.theroux@house.ga.gov

Camille Taylor (404) 656-0305

camille.taylor@house.ga.gov

Rep. John Carson Receives Legislative Service Award from Georgia State Retirees Association

ATLANTA – State Representative John Carson (R-Marietta), chair of the House Retirement Committee, recently received the Legislative Service Award from the Georgia State Retirees Association (GSRA).

"I am honored and humbled to receive this recognition from the Georgia State Retirees Association and want to extend my most sincere gratitude," said Rep. Carson. "It is with great pride that I serve this legislative body and my constituents. I look forward to continuing to examine legislation that serves our retirees throughout the rest of this session and strengthening this partnership with the GSRA."

The GSRA recognized Rep. Carson for his support and leadership under the Gold Dome. As the chair of the House Retirement Committee, Rep. Carson shepherds legislation regarding the Teacher's Retirement System, which handles retirement benefits for public school teachers, many employees of the University System of Georgia and certain other designated employees in educational-related work environments. He also oversees legislation for the State Employee's Retirement System, which administers separate and distinct pension plans for various employer agencies, defined contribution plans and a life insurance plan. The ERS also serves as the State Social Security Administrator for all political subdivisions of the state.

The GSRA presented the award to Chairman Carson at the State Capitol on March 2, 2022.

*Editor's Note: A photo of Rep. Carson receiving this award is attached.

Representative John Carson represents the citizens of District 46, which includes portions of Cherokee and Cobb counties. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 2011 and currently serves as Chairman of the House Retirement Committee. He also serves on the MARTOC, Rules, State Planning and Community Affairs, Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications, Ways & Means and Intragovernmental Coordination committees. He is also an Ex-Officio member on the Appropriations Committee.

###